Decor Dreams: Exposed Brick Walls

I’ve been a fan of unfinished, un-plastered brick walls for as long as I can remember. In childhood, I loved the Egmore Museum Theatre and the Chennai Central Railway station just because the whole building had red brick walls! After my marriage, I have noticed that I like brick walls even more – thanks to my husbands(and now my) beautiful home in Thrissur, Kerala. My father-in-law got it designed by the renowned architect Laurie Baker and it was built using sustainable, locally produced materials. It is a true labor of love, filled with carefully collected items. I will post more about my home later – Do let me know in the comments if you would like a home tour post.]

Our Thrissur Home designed by Architect Laurie Baker

See what I mean? Isn’t it gorgeous!! Our Thrissur Home designed by Architect Laurie Baker.

[My cute niece is running amok on the front lawn πŸ˜‰ and being supervised by my husband πŸ™‚ I love this pic. ]

Beautiful Brick Wall Inspiration

In today’s edition of Decor Dreams, I am sharing some beautiful exposed brick wall interiors that I found on Pinterest.

1

Brick-walled Living room from w-onderofworld Tumblr

Brick walled Living room from w-onderofworld Tumblr

2

Loveseat at Yoga Magic. Image found here.

Swing Loveseat at Yogamagic, Goa.

3

Huge windows and brick walls. Image found on Pinterest.

Huuuuuge windows and brick!

4

Image taken from the article “20 Spaces featuring beautiful exposed brick walls” found here.

Wow! Glam Bedroom with beautiful brick wall

5

Image taken from the article “20 Spaces featuring beautiful exposed brick walls” foundΒ here.

Lovely Living Room with high ceiling and brick walls

Hope you enjoyed this Decor Dreams post. Do you like brick walled interiors too or do you think they’re too rustic to be your style?

P.S: Are we friends on Pinterest yet?? I’m pretty active on Pinterest and would love to see what you are pinning…Do stop by my Decor Dreams board for more drool-worthy decor.

6 responses to “Decor Dreams: Exposed Brick Walls

  1. Sarajoshua, Hi,

    Truly, a fabulous house. We are also from Chennai with roots in Thrissur. We are making plans to have a small house built in our village. Would appreciate it if you would be willnig to provide us with more information.

    Sathish and suchitra
    Chennai

    • Hi Sathish and Suchitra,

      Thank you for your kind comments. My husband’s house was built in Thrissur by the world famous architect Laurie Baker who is sadly no more. If you like this kind of eco-friendly and sustainable architecture, please check out the Center for Vernacular Architecture (CVA) or Vernarch as it is popularly known. Here’s a list of the projects they have worked on. Hope this helps. Do let me know about the progress. Would love to know more πŸ™‚

      • SaraJoshua, Hi again, This is Sathish and Suchitra. Thanks for the mail and the information provided. We will be finishing our land documentation process soon. July 2nd week we are planning to be in Thrissur. Would it be possible for you to share details about your house, like …..contractor who built the house, some rough estimates on the cost (rate/sq ft), lessons learnt in building such houses etc.

        If you do not mind, would we be able to visit your house and take a look. Our Village is called Arattupuzha, in Thrissur. We have reached out to COSTFORD too. This is an organization involved in house construction, based on Laurie Baker principles.

        Thanks again, Sathish and Suchitra

      • Hi Sathish and Suchitra,
        Our house was built in 1985 πŸ™‚ Laurie Baker’s personal staff and workers were involved in the construction. My father-in-law is the best person to talk to regarding the design and construction process. Please send me a mail with your contact number at sgracej@gmail.com and I can reply with our contact details. I am sure my father-in-law can help you out with the finer details πŸ™‚ thank you for your interest in our home!

  2. Interest in Laurie baker brought me here. Your home is very beautiful and well maintained. Do post more pictures. I have a theory that as malayalees travel outside, their taste gets corrupted. May be this explains the terrible state of architecture in Kerala.

    • Thank you for your kind comments. My in-laws maintain their house very well and my father-in-law is passionate about architecture, gardening and organic farming which he does at home. As I am currently in America I cannot take more pictures to share. Will post when we return to India πŸ™‚
      I agree with you – many people do not realize the wealth of architecture and design resources within India and sometimes resort to just picking the flashiest and most expensive looking things – when in reality, the simpler the design is – the more pleasing and easy it is to maintain.

Leave a Reply

