My Uncle’s Home – Indian Decor in America – Part I

As you know by my previous post, my husband and I have moved to America for a short while – this gave me a lovely chance to visit my uncle and his family in North Carolina – a long overdue visit!

My aunt has a great sense of style and she has decorated their home with so much love and care. It was so nice to see Indian decor and feel a sense of home in a foreign land πŸ™‚ Their home has a unique vibe and the warm colors used give each room a cozy feel…I just had to share some pics of my uncle’s home with you!

As soon as you enter the house, you are greeted by this entryway – I would say that just this area is enough to summarize my uncle and aunt’s personalities πŸ™‚ You can tell that they love art, music, gardening and India from this cozy scene.

Beautiful entryway with art, greenery and my uncle's piano

Beautiful entryway with art, greenery and my uncle’s piano

The formal living room is to the left side of the entryway – here my aunt has chosen a lovely deep green color scheme which is very soothing and refreshing to the eyes especially since this room gets a lot of sunshine in the afternoon.

Green themed living room with pleasant and soothing decor

Green themed living room with pleasant and soothing decor

And because I cannot resist the cuteness – a closeup of the silver elephant that graces the living room side-table πŸ™‚

Silver Elephant on a glass pedestal

Silver Elephant on a glass pedestal

The formal dining area is to the right of the entryway and features a long dining table accented by a lovely embroidered table runner.

Formal Dining Room

Formal Dining Room

A warm rust colored accent wall lies beyond the entryway leading into the informal living room, kitchen and dining area…

Rust colored accent wall - in the perfect spot to receive early morning sunshine!

Rust colored accent wall – in the perfect spot to receive early morning sunshine!

Another warm vignette – peaceful Buddhas in dark wood frames

Framed Buddha faces

Framed Buddha face

I hope that you like this sneak peek into my uncle’s home…I will post the rest of the pics soon…

Leave a Reply

